Home > Dinner Ideas > Simple, healthy meat sauce

Simple, healthy meat sauce

At my Weight Watcher’s meeting, a friend asked me to provide some ideas for quick healthy dinners. I have TONS, so I’m going to try to post a bunch over the coming days and weeks.  To start, I’ll give you my tried and true favorite – meat sauce.  This is not a “recipe” – like most of my go-to meals its more of a formula.  Feel free to substitute your own favorite products, though the health value may vary!

Healthy Meat Sauce

1 package Shadybrook Farms sweet Italian turkey sausage
1.5 jar Classico Tomato Basil pasta sauce
Frozen, diced green peppers
Frozen, diced onions

  1. Squeeze the sausage out of its casing into a skillet.   Cook like ground beef, until done.
  2. Add in a good sized helping (about 1c) each of the green peppers and onions.  Cook until not frozen anymore (real technical, huh?!)
  3. Once the veggies are heated through, pour in the jar of sauce.  Stir to combine.
  4. Simmer the meat sauce on medium heat until warmed through.

Makes about 6 servings per batch.  I count the PTS value as 4 PTS per serving.

I use this for pasta with meat sauce, lasagna, baked ziti.  I’ve served it for dinner parties, too, and people – even those who aren’t weight-conscious – say they love it.  And it freezes really well I’ll often use 2 servings for dinner, put a 3rd in the fridge for leftover lunch, then freeze the other half for another day when I won’t have time to cook.

Try it out and let me know what you think!

Categories: Dinner Ideas
  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 2, 2009 at 2:16 pm
  2. April 8, 2009 at 2:36 am

Leave a comment