Home > Tips and Tricks > Starting over with PointsPlus

Starting over with PointsPlus

I went to my old meeting tonight to learn the basics of the new WW PointsPlus program. Out of respect for their copyright I’m not going to talk about the specifics here, but the basic gist is that foods that are high in protein or fiber have become better “bargains” than they were and stuff that’s high in fat and carbs has become worse. Fruits are free, which is huge for me because I LOVE fruit of almost all kinds. Most veggies are still zero except the really starchy ones. The rest is largely the same. Spend your Points on the healthiest foods you can, stick to your target, exercise, use your weekly allowance for indulgences and special occasions.

The biggest thing to get used to will be the numbers (and saying PointsPlus! It’s not a noun so it’s harder to say. I find myself calling them “PlusPoints” instead). My daily Target went up, and so did some of the PointsPlus of my go-to foods. In some cases, though, it’s still the same relative proportion. A food that was 2 PTS was 10% of my daily allocation before. Now, it might be 3 PTS but that’s still 10% of my daily Target so relatively speaking it’s the same.

I’m taking advantage of this new program to re-commit to my healthy eating, planning, tracking, and to the idea that this can be a fun adventure. As was the case when I first started, and a few times in the last 10 years, I’m trying to look at this as a way to expand and change my dietary repertoire and shake things up. Stay tuned to share in the fun!

Categories: Tips and Tricks
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment